News

To squat or unsquat. Time’s up for banned SC vehicles. Will owners choose to risk fines?

The pink Silverado 4×4 that Noah Flowers drives was already squatted when he purchased it, however that reality didn’t cease him from getting a warning ticket in early April.

The 18-year-old Conway man was pulled over by Horry County Police early final month and issued a warning ticket for his truck.

Flowers’ truck, sometimes referred to as a Carolina squat truck, has been banned in South Carolina. And whereas police have solely been writing warning tickets now, come May 10, drivers of the vans will face heftier fines and fairly probably revocation of their driver’s license.

But it doesn’t seem that there was a rush for squat truck owners to have their autos unsquatted.

Flowers stated he might unsquat his truck some, however he doesn’t intend to modify it an excessive amount of. As of May 1, his truck was nonetheless the identical.

The Carolina squat is a classy alteration normally discovered on a pickup or SUV that lifts the entrance of the automobile and lowers the rear.

“It kind of sucks,” Flowers stated of his ticket. “Not everyone drives (like) dumb*****.”

Tonya Gatquard with T&R Truck and Auto Repair in Myrtle Beach stated the store has obtained just a few cellphone calls, however nobody has are available to have their truck modified to make it authorized.

“I’m surprised,” Gatquard stated. “They’re so dangerous.”

Usually those that squat their vans do it themselves, in accordance to Tammy Cassidy of C&G Auto and Truck in Myrtle Beach.

“Those people who have those trucks are thinking they are going to be under the radar,” Cassidy stated. “(We) won’t see any until they are passing out tickets.”

Beginning May 10, drivers can obtain tickets for violations under the new law. First offense is a $100 wonderful; second offense is $200 and a 3rd offense is a $300 wonderful and a license suspension by the South Carolina Department of Motor Vehicles for 12 months from the date of the conviction.

The tickets are for unlawfully elevating or decreasing a motorized vehicle by greater than 6 inches by a modification or change in bodily construction, excluding pickup vans. However, the peak of the entrance fender of a pickup truck can’t be raised or lowered 4 or extra inches higher than the peak of the rear fender.

South Carolina joined Virginia and North Carolina in banning the popular squat trucks.

Although the regulation went into impact July 1, the General Assembly included language that the regulation wouldn’t truly take impact till 180 days after approval by the governor. Following that 180 days, which was in November, solely warning tickets shall be issued to violators of the regulation.

It is unclear what number of warning tickets have been written since November. Myrtle Beach Police stated their warning tickets “do not track” if a automobile is a squatted truck and have been unable to present the variety of tickets. A Freedom of Information Act request to Horry County Police for the variety of warning tickets issued was not accomplished by time of publication.

Ocean Boulevard within the Myrtle Beach space might look totally different this summer season, as Myrtle Beach has long been a haven for squat vans, which may be seen touring down town’s busy major drag.

Myrtle Beach Police Chief Amy Prock performed a key position in outlawing the vans, testifying a number of instances throughout state committee hearings. One incident used to encourage the ban was the loss of life of a pedestrian, who was struck and killed by a Carolina squat truck within the metropolis in the course of the summer season of 2021.

If individuals do choose to get their autos unsquatted, Scott Fedan, proprietor of Scott’s Garage in Loris, stated they may most certainly do it in their very own yards.

But the extra possible possibility, he stated, is “They’ll just get the ticket.”

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button