This year’s Hall of Fame inductees represent six sports

Waco, Texas ~ World Series champion Max Muncy and longtime men’s basketball announcer Pat Nunley lead the 2023 Baylor Athletics Hall of Fame class, which includes eight former student-athletes from six sports. JD Walton, Ken Quesenberry, Tiffany Townsend, Sandy Forsythe Massey, Denes Lukacs and Stan Curry will join Muncy (baseball) and Nunley (men’s basketball) in the new class. Former Tennis Letter Winner George Chandler will join the Association “B” Wall of Honor. The 2023 Hall of Fame Banquet will be held at 6:30 p.m. on Friday, November 3 in the Cashion Building Banquet Hall at Baylor University. Association “B” can be contacted at 254-710-3045 or (email protected) to purchase tickets for $50 each or table sponsorships at the green ($600) and gold ($800) levels. The Baylor Athletics Hall of Fame, founded in 1960, honors individuals whose involvement and accomplishments have enhanced the university’s athletics program. Student-athletes must wait 10 years after completing their eligibility to be nominated for the Hall of Fame. 265 people were chosen or inducted into the Hall of Fame, including coach Floyd “Uncle Jim” Crow and baseball player Ted Lyons. Chandler becomes the 32nd addition to the Wall of Honor. The Baylor-Houston football game on Saturday November 4 will celebrate the Hall of Fame and the Wall of Winners on the ground at McLane Stadium. Curry broke a 12-year-old Southwest Conference high jump record at the 1968 outdoor meet with his winning mark of 6-11 1/2. He’s 10th on Baylor’s all-time tally, just behind 2022 Hall of Famer Gary Kafer (7-0).

Curry won the Drake Relays high jump title in 1968 and Texas Relays in 1969, going 6-10 or better 20 times, including four of 6-11 or better. In 1968, he won the United States Athletics Federation Championship and competed in the Lake Tahoe Olympic Trials. Legendary coach Clyde Hart gave Sandy Forsythe the first women’s athletic scholarship in 1982 when Baylor moved from the AIAW to the NCAA. She still holds the program record in the 3000 (9:22.44) and set school marks in the 1500 (4:16.82) and 5000 (16:15.50). As a senior in 1986, Forsythe Massey became Baylor’s first female athlete to qualify for NCAA championships in the 1,500, 3,000 and 5,000m. She is still in the top 10 in three events almost 40 years later. Lukacs was a three-time All-American in singles action (2008-10), helping the Bears win six Big 12 titles and reach the NCAA Quarterfinals each year. He is second in career singles wins (135) and single season wins (47, 2007-08) and is one of seven players in the Baylor 200 club (singles and doubles wins combined). In 2008, the Hungarian native won 47 matches. , reached the NCAA singles quarterfinals and was awarded ITA Regional Player to Watch and Most Outstanding Player of the Big 12 Tournament. In NCAA Tournament match play, he was 8-0 in simple. In 2010, Muncy hit .300 with a program freshman record 11 homers and 53 RBIs to earn Freshman All-America honors. He hit .322 with seven homers and 56 RBIs in 2012 to help the Bears win the Big 12 regular season title and reach the NCAA Super Regionals.

The Keller, Texas native finished his BU career with an average of .315, 27 home runs, 40 doubles, six triples and 153 RBIs. Muncy, drafted by Oakland in the fifth round in 2012, is a two-time all-star and 2020 World Series champion with the Los Angeles Dodgers. Nunley, a four-year-old basketball player (1977-81) played with program legends Vinnie Johnson and Terry Teagle. He hit 88.7 percent from the free throw line and averaged 12.3 points as a junior. He became a color analyst alongside Hall of Famer Frank Fallon during his freshman year at Baylor Law School. Nunley, who called the Bears’ 2021 national championship win over Gonzaga with “Voice of the Bears” John Morris, just completed his 41st season, the second-longest of any Big 12 basketball announcer. Quesenberry, known as “Quiz”, was an All-Southwest Conference safety for the 1974 “Miracle on the Brazos” champions. He was voted the Cotton Bowl’s top defensive player in 1975 with 12 tackles and one interception. “Quiz” was named to the Baylor and Cotton Bowl All-Decade Teams of the 1970s and won the Baylor Gold Helmet award as the team’s Most Valuable Defensive Player. The Bobby Jones Memorial Leadership Award as a senior in 1973. He finished his college career playing in the 1975 Blue-Gray All-Star Game. Townsend has almost twice as many All-America honors as any other athlete Baylor women’s athletics (12 individuals, five relays). In 2011, she placed third in the 200m and sixth in the 60m indoor and 100m outdoor at the NCAA Indoor and Outdoor Championships. Townsend, a member of Baylor’s 25-for-25 and Co-Track Athlete of the Decade (2010-19), holds the school record in the 60-meter indoors (7.23) and numerous top-10 finishes in the 60 and 200 indoors and outdoor relay 100, 200 and 4×100. Walton was a 2009 Rimington Trophy finalist and a first-team All-American by The Associated Press. After being traded from Arizona State, the Allen, Texas native started 36 consecutive games at center for the Bears and helped Robert Griffin III, Jay Finley and company rush for 2,349 yards in 2008 .

Walton was invited to the 2010 East-West Shrine Game, NFL Combine and Senior Bowl after graduating in voice communications in December 2009. He started 52 of 56 games in six seasons with the Denver Broncos, Washington Redskins, the New York Giants and San Diego Chargers after being drafted in the third round. The Association “B” Wall of Respect annually honors Baylor recipients and alumni whose excellent efforts in public or private life after graduation have yielded beneficial public notice, credit and respect at Baylor and the athletics department. Chandler, who received a tennis scholarship to Baylor and was the team’s MVP in 1960, graduated from Baylor Law School in 1962 and went on to become one of the nation’s top lawyers and lecturers. He began his work at a Corpus Christi personal injury law firm and started his own law firm Lufkin in 1971. Chandler, Mathis & Zivley has been specializing in personal injury law and plaintiff commercial litigation for nearly 50 years. Chandler said, “I was motivated to be an advocate for the worker, where he would have a voice against big organizations with big resources.” He wanted to “see people we could help and change things and make their lives better.” Chandler was named Baylor Lawyer of the Year in 2009 and a Texas Legal Legend by the Texas State Bar’s Litigation Section five years later. Thomson Reuters named him one of Texas’ Top 100 Super Lawyers for 10 years (2003-12). George and Martha (BA, 1961) won Baylor’s Legacy Award in 2015 for outstanding service and charity.

Related Articles

Back to top button