News

Ronnie O’Sullivan shows ‘unbelievable’ sportsmanship in incident at World Snooker Championship

Ronnie O’Sullivan displayed “unbelievable” sportsmanship throughout an incident in his quarter-final loss in opposition to Stuart Bingham at the World Snooker Championship.

O’Sullivan was main 6-5 in the best-of-25 contest, and down 14 factors in the twelfth body, when the weird second occurred after he had potted the black.

Referee Desislava Bozhilova tried to re-spot the black ball – a fragile operation with the white ball in such shut proximity and the black ball rocking off its spot barely.

Bozhilova felt the black was on its spot however O’Sullivan was unconvinced and appeared sad to just accept the advantage of with the ability to pot the following purple into the left nook pocket because of the black’s place.

Despite Bingham’s indifference, O’Sullivan refused to pot the purple and as a substitute opted to play a security shot. O’Sullivan went on to lose the body, and fellow world champion Neil Robertson hailed the extraordinary second.

“He played safe even though he could pot the red. It’s unbelievable,” Robertson mentioned, analysing the match for BBC Sport.

“This is probably one of the greatest bits of sportsmanship I have ever seen in any sport. That’s incredible. “I’ve never seen anything like that before.”

However, O’Sullivan offered a special tackle the incident, telling Eurosport: “To be honest with you, some of the refs, I think they’ve got it in for me, so I just wanted to prove to her that she got it wrong.

O’Sullivan speaks to referee Desislava Bozhilov at the Crucible (Action Images via Reuters)O’Sullivan speaks to referee Desislava Bozhilov at the Crucible (Action Images via Reuters)

O’Sullivan speaks to referee Desislava Bozhilov at the Crucible (Action Images via Reuters)

“I didn’t feel good about potting the ball after that, but I just wanted to make the point. The point was made. I’m not that hungry to win it in that way, so once the principle’s been made I can sleep at night.”

Bozhilova, 31, has refereed on the skilled tour for 12 years, and officiated in the respective Masters and UK Championship finals in 2022.

The WST refuted O’Sullivan’s allegations and insisted Bozhilova acted accurately all through the incident.

The match’s second session concluded at eight frames every earlier than Bingham went on to say a shock 13-10 victory and progress to the ultimate 4.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button