Laurel County Board of Education honors teachers, academic team

May 1—Students and employees have been acknowledged earlier than the Laurel County Board of Education final week, each with reward from board members.

The South Laurel Middle School academic team had a profitable 12 months, successful the District 44 and Region 11 championships. They then moved on the state competitors in Quick Recall.

Two college students, Michael Sparkman and Taylor Strunk, secured high 5 positions in particular person competitions. Michael Sparkman earned 4th place in Social Studies, whereas Taylor Strunk obtained 4th place in Arts & Humanities.

Also honored have been the 2 Laurel County School District educators chosen because the London Laurel Chamber of Commerce’s Teacher of the Year. Those have been Jacob Moore of SLMS and John Hunt of SLHS.

Board members additionally voted to just accept a contract with Cloyd & Associates as Independent Auditors for the 2024-2025 faculty 12 months.

The board will maintain its May assembly on Monday, May 13 however voted to cancel the 4th Monday assembly because it falls on Memorial Day.

New positions will likely be obtainable for employment. Board members voted to re-create a Visually Impaired Teacher for the district/Garland Building, an Attendance Clerk for North Laurel High, and a Chief Information Officer for the district.

Also authorised have been:

—School Facilities Construction Commission’s second provide of help of $66,109.

—Dual Credit Memorandum between Hazard Community & Technical College for 2024-2025 academic 12 months.

—Johnson Elementary to use for the Kentucky Bluegrass Award Grant by means of the Kentucky Association of School Librarians.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button