Health News

Hockey Season Rewards

KALAMAZOO. ~ After a record-breaking 2022-23 season, Western Michigan hockey head coach Pat Ferschweiler announced the team’s annual awards. The Broncos won 23 games, finished first in the NCHC and returned to the NCAA Tournament. Rob Hodge MVP Jason Polin has had a great season. 30 goals led the NCAA and NCHC. The Bronco captain was a Hobey Baker runner-up and second-team All-American. He was All-NCHC First Team, Player of the Year, and Forward of the Year. Ryan McAllister was named Susan Klop’s start of the year and Vic Vanderberg top scorer after his impressive debut season. McAllister led the club with 49 points, 13 goals and 36 assists. He earned an honorable mention All-NCHC and NCHC All-Rookie.

McAllister, Fulp and Galambos have all won two trophies. Fulp and Galambos split the Neil Smith Award for Most Valuable Defender. Fulp had 15 points, two goals, 13 assists and 50 blocked shots. Finalist for NCHC Defensive Defender of the Year. Galambos led the defense with 29 points, 11 goals and 18 assists. He blocked 42 shots. Galambos was a finalist for the league’s Offensive Defender of the Year. Fulp received the Peter Ellis Academic Award for his 4.0 GPA throughout the program. NCHC Distinguished Athlete Fulp has three. Galambos also won the Bill Saunders Plus/Minus Award for finishing +30.

Luke Grainger won the KOHA Grinder after his career year helped the Broncos to success. He scored 32 points on 12 goals and 20 assists, including six in a 7-6 win over North Dakota. Dylan Wendt has been named Ed Edwards’ Most Improved Player after a stellar second season. Wendt finished 2022-23 with 22 points on eight goals and 14 assists. Three points last season. Finally, Cole Gallant and Cam Knuble were recognized for their season. After displaying good sportsmanship on the ice, Gallant won the Catherine Lawson Sportsmanship Award. Gallant has two minor penalties in 39 games. Knuble won the Ross/Dickie Brown and Gold Award after scoring in 30 games. He played forward and in defense in those 30 games.

Related Articles

Back to top button