Eddie Jones reveals why he spoke to Swans boss John Longmire earlier than naming his Wallabies team

Eddie Jones has revealed he spoke to Sydney boss John Longmire earlier than deciding to name Michael Hooper and James Slipper as Wallabies co-captains.

Hooper, who probably boasts the most captaincy in Australia, did not captain this aspect, returning for the finish of last year after a three-month psychological well-being break.

He will now partner the man who joined him in the Slipper with two Test centurions who have 251 Wallabies caps.

The Wallabies boss mentioned he had spoken to Longmire to discuss the feasibility of appointing two co-captains. This observation has been accepted by the Swans for years, yet is largely uncommon in rugby.

It comes after Jones requested NRL hotshot Andrew Jones to train for the Wallabies in the final week.

Eddie Jones has revealed he spoke to Swans boss John Longmire earlier than naming his Wallabies squad for the Rugby Championship.

Jones named James Slipper (left) and Michael Hooper (right) as co-captains.

“Last Wednesday mate I went out and spent the day at the Sydney Swans with John Longmire,” he said. Nine Sports Sunday.

“And they have a tradition of being co-captains, they’ve been up to eight captains, they’ve had three captains, and I just wanted to dig deeper into the pros and cons.

“And I think with Slips and Hoops we cover the scope of the team. Both have a slightly different approach to management, both have a slightly different approach to how they play the game.

Jones has picked five overseas players in his Rugby Championship squad – more than Rugby Australia’s three squads normally allow – with potential debutant Richie Arnold joining Sam Kerevi, Marika Koroibet, Will Skelton and Quaid Cooper.

There is no place for five-eighth Bernard Foley, with Jones opting for Melbourne star Carter Gordon and back-to-back utilities Ben Donaldson and Rhys Hodge as alternatives.

Jones has selected eight uncapped players to face South Africa, New Zealand and Argentina, along with key forward Brumbies lock Tom Hooper, who produced a superb finish to the Super Rugby Pacific season after recovering from a foot injury. skilled season.

Queensland duo Matt Fessler and Zane Nonggore, NSW flyer Dylan Piech and Melbourne utility Josh Kemeny are all set for their first competition, along with Ryan Lonergan, Gordon and Arnold.

Tate McDermott was recalled after Jones left him out of April’s training camp, partnering Lonergan and Nick White at half-back.

Jones and Swans boss John Longmire suggested it was worth naming two co-captains

Last week, Jones NRL asked Andrew Jones (right) to help the Wallabies prepare


Forward: Alan Alaalatoa, Richie Arnold, Matt Fessler, Nick Frost, Matt Gibbons, Jed Holloway, Michael Hooper, Tom Hooper, Rob Leota, Fraser McCraith, Zane Nongora, David Porecki, Pete Samu, Will Skelton, James Slipper, Taniela Tupo, Jordan Uelese , Rob Valetini.

ridges: Quade Cooper, Lalakai Foketi, Carter Gordon, Reece Hodge, Len Ikitau, Marika Koroibete, Ryan Lonergan, Tate McDermott, Mark Navakanitawase, Izaia Peres, Suliasi Vunivalu, Nick White, Tom Wright, Ben Donaldson, Josh Kemeny, Dylan Piech.

ACT five-eighth Noah Lolesio has once again been left out as the 12-cap teenager is not in Jones’ plans, with the coach favoring Gordon and Cooper as his main playmakers.

Jones mentioned that Slipper and Hooper were the right players to lead the side in a smashing mission to win the World Cup later this year.

“Michael and James are world-class players, strong leaders and epitomize what it means to be a Wallaby,” he mentioned.

They have been working hard with the management group since January and it will probably be important that they continue to get strong help from the players around them.

“Getting selected in the team is just the start, now we have to build the team and it will take hard work and get a bit more out of everyone involved.”

Aspect meet the Gold Coast on Sunday, with their first rest in less than two weeks against the Springboks in Pretoria on July 8.

Waratahs big man Angus Bell, Rebels fullback Andrew Kellaway and Queensland prospect Jordan Petaia are among the rehabilitation group.

Four players were ruled ineligible for selection related to injuries, along with NSW young gun Max Jorgensen and ACT speedster Corey Toole.

Among the notable omissions from the Foley, Queensland-based train squad are James O’Connor, Hunter Paisami, Jake Gordon and Lachie Lonergan.

Related Articles

Back to top button