Health News

3 Big Ten athletes win NCAA outdoor track and field titles

AUTIN. ~ At the conclusion of the NCAA Division I Outdoor Track and Field Championships on Saturday at Mike A. Myers Stadium on the University of Texas campus at Austin, three female athletes compete for schools in the Big Ten Conference have won individual titles. Savannah Sutherland, a sophomore from Michigan, came first in the 400-meter hurdles, while Axelina Johansson, a sophomore from Nebraska, and Rhema Otabor, a junior from Nebraska, won their respective events for win championship titles. As the only subclass competing in the final, Sutherland set a new personal best with a time of 54.45 seconds. She held first place the entire race and ended up posting the ninth fastest time in the world this year. Additionally, Sutherland won the NCAA championship for Michigan for the first time since 2017, helping the Wolverines finish in 14th place.

Johansson saved his greatest performance for last, going 63-3 1/4 yards (19.28 yards) on the last throw of his six attempts after the competition had already been decided in his favor. She became the third female Husker to win the NCAA shot put championship in school history. Otabor’s javelin throw of 195-2 (59.49 meters) was good enough to break the previous school record. She is the second female athlete from the state of Nebraska to win the state javelin championship. Johansson and Otabor made history as the first female Husker athletes to win an NCAA title since 2006.

In addition to the first place effort, the Ohio State team of Bryannia Murphy, Alyssa Marsh, Yanique Dayle and Jaydan Wood competed in the 4×400 meter relay event. Their efforts helped Nebraska finish in eighth place, which was the best showing of any Big Ten team in this year’s competition. The Texas women’s team took first place in the competition. Their time of 3:26.72 was good enough for third place. On the men’s side, Wisconsin tied for 15th, Nebraska and Minnesota tied for 17th, and Minnesota finished last. The team competition was won by Florida, who took the title.

Related Articles

Back to top button